Reality or Farce? The Facebook Dilemma

I’m not sure any more what a “normal” day is. I wake up around 7 hours after I finally go to sleep which could be anywhere between 11:00 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. or so (one of the benefits of being retired!). I stumble into the kitchen and fix myself some breakfast (usually toast and hot tea). Next I check emails and Facebook —- WAIT!! I decided to take a little hiatus from Facebook.

Yes, I decided I needed a respite from FB, so I deactivated my account. I’m so SICK of everyone’s posts about how good their lives are. It’s like a competition for who can outpost whom, or who can “one up” the next person. There is absolutely NO WAY anyone’s life is that PERFECT. Their jobs are perfect, their social life is perfect, their spouse is perfect, their kids and step-kids are perfect (**sarcasm** if everything was so d**n perfect they wouldn’t have STEP-KIDS! Oh, I can’t help but chuckle at myself on that one!), and on and on and on and on they go (if you could see me right now, you would see me sticking my finger down my throat far enough to gag myself so I would throw up!).

The last several days have been rather nice NOT checking FB and everyone’s posts. It’s amazing how much more time I have on my hands. I really think FB is a time sucker! It’s also amazing how my attitude and outlook has changed. Is FB responsible for my attitude and outlook? No, of course not! I am the only one responsible for my attitude.

Do I miss it? Well, yes, in some ways. I live in a town with a population of 8,000 people and FB is a good way to get information about who is sick or been in an accident or had a death in the family. It’s also a great place to post prayer requests and seek support during times of crisis. However, overall, I think I’m better off at this point in my life without it.

Will I reactivate my FB account? Probably, but I’ll try to wait at least a couple more weeks. When I do, I will probably delete or at least “hide” some of my so-called “friends.”

What do you think? Is Facebook a plus or minus in your life? Be truthful and honest with yourself because YOUR opinion is the only one that counts in your life. If it’s affecting your life in a negative way, will you deactivate your account?

I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

